Skip Navigation

Grants and Awards

Racial/Ethnic History Research Grant
Awarded for research in the history and heritage of ethnic groups in the American United Methodist tradition.

The Jesse Lee Prize
Awarded once every four years to a serious, book-length monograph in Methodist history.

John Harrison Ness Memorial Award
An annual award may be given to M. Div. students who submit the best papers on some aspect of United Methodist history broadly conceived.

United Methodist History for Children and Youth Curriculum Grant
To provide seed money (research, group collaboration, peer review) for the creation of a curriculum suitable for teaching the history of The United Methodist Church.

Women in United Methodist History Research Grant
Provides seed money for research projects relating specifically to the history of women in The United Methodist Church or its antecedents.

Women in United Methodist History Writing Award
One award given each year for an original manuscript on the history of women in The United Methodist Church or its antecedents.

The World is My Parish United Methodist History Research Grant
To encourage research into the development of The United Methodist Church and its antecedents in conferences not in the United States.

The Center for the EUB Heritage Audrie E. Reber Memorial Award
The Center for Evangelical United Brethren Heritage offers an annual award to a student or scholar who submits the best paper focused on some aspect of Evangelical United Brethren (EUB) heritage. 

Josephine Forman Scholarship
The purpose of the Josephine Forman Scholarship is to provide financial support to minority students pursuing graduate education in archival science.

Bishop Forrest C. Stith Grant
Awarded every other year to UM African American congregations planning/doing innovative ways to recover, preserve and/or present their histories; or to individuals doing research projects on African Americans in Methodism.