Skip Navigation

John Harrison Ness Memorial Award

The General Commission on Archives and History of The United Methodist Church offers an annual award of $500 (first prize) and $250 (second prize) to the students enrolled in the M. Div. program (or its equivalent) in United Methodist or other seminaries accredited by the Association of Theological Schools who submit the best papers on some aspect of United Methodist history broadly conceived.

The award is given in memory of John Harrison Ness (1891-1980), pastor, conference superintendent, and denominational executive in the Evangelical United Brethren Church.

Deadline date for submitting papers will be February 1 for each school year. By that date all competing papers must be in the hands of the General Secretary of the General Commission on Archives and History, P.O. Box 127, Madison, NJ 07940.

The decision of the judges will be final. No prize will be awarded if the judges decide that no paper submitted has the required quality of scholarship for an award.